Noci Saxophone Pool

Marco Colonna – Gianni Console – Vittorino Curci – Francesco Massaro

“Noci Saxophone Pool”

in vinyl, CD and Digital – Niafunken – Goodfellas distribution

from November 6th 2021

A New Model Label production

Programmazione Puglia Sounds Record 2020/2021

REGIONE PUGLIA FSC 2014/2020 Patto per la Puglia – Investiamo nel vostro futuro

#WeAreinPuglia #PugliaSoundsPlusNoci, located in the Bari province, has been for many years a reference point for music research in Italy and Europa Jazz Festival an event which hosted the greatest exponents of world’s improvised music scene took place in the Apulian town from 1989 to 2000. Noci Saxophone Pool an ensemble of a quartet of multi-instrumentalists and saxophones players: Marco Colonna, Gianni Console, Vittorino Curci and Francesco Massaro was formed in 2015.

This first Noci Saxophone Pool’s recording concept comes from a writing by Vittorino Curci and is developed in close connection with the territory, in alternation of written themes and improvised parts in which the particularity of the ensemble is enhanced, formed by four different types of saxophones (alto, tenor, baritone and others) nonetheless by various wind instruments, on the border between jazz and contemporary classical music and film music. The whole production took place at Officina Musicale studio in Castellana Grotte (Ba) in remote editing work due to pamdemic’s circumstances. The band reunited in July 2021 for live video shooting.

Marco Colonna has to his credit prestigious collaborations: Evan Parker, Agusti Fernandez, Andrew Cyrille, Zlatko Kaucic, Ettore Fioravanti and he’s a member of Roberto Ottaviano’s Eternal Love. Gianni Console is leading Scatola Sonora, an educational-musical center in Noci. He has played in various ensambles along with foreign musicians including Ab Baars, Gunther Sommer, Bob Ostertag and Peter Brotzmann.Vittorino Curci has been co-founder of Europa Jazz Festival in Noci, and he’s also visual artist and poet. Francesco Massaro, leader of Bestiario, has been voted as one of the best new Italian talents on “Musica Jazz” magazine yearly referendum.Tracklisting: Il Vento Del Disgelo / L’Albero Della Guerra / Esercizio Provvisorio #1 / Esercizio Provvisorio #2 / Vermi / 30 Settembre / Celicoli Sfrattati

Press Office:

Niafunken S.R.L.